The refresh function synchronizes your Excel data with Anaplan. Once the refresh completes, the Excel Add-in displays the latest data that is in the Anaplan module or the view you connected to.
Each time you refresh a connection, a dialog displays to inform you of the status of the refresh. If the refresh can't complete, the dialog displays a message that explains why, and what action to take to finish the refresh.
The refresh behaves differently, depending on the data changes made:
|Data change made||Refresh result|
|Changes you made in Excel to cells that contain source data from Anaplan||These changes are lost|
|Cells that you added to the Excel worksheet (that aren't cells from the source module or view in Anaplan)||These changes are kept|
|Sometimes, the source module is deleted in Anaplan whilst you work on it in the Excel Add-in||That data is removed in Excel|
|If your access to the module or a part of the module has been removed in Anaplan||That module or part of a module is removed from Excel. Details of this display in a dialog|
|Changes you made to the way the data pivots and filters in Excel||The way the data is pivoted and filtered in Excel remains unchanged on refresh. The data itself updates|
|Cell range||Keep the cell range together rather than split it. This is in order for it to update upon refresh.|