1. Administration and security
  2. Manage Models
  3. Change the Model Mode

In Model Management, click Change Mode.

There are four modes for every model: standard, deployed, locked, and archived.

  • Standard mode, enabled by default for new models, is intended for model building and model update activities.
  • Deployed mode is designed exclusively for use with production models as part of Application Lifecycle Management (ALM).
  • Locked mode makes the model read-only, so users can see the model but can't make any changes to it.
  • Archived mode allows you to continue to store the model in Anaplan without it contributing to your workspace allowance. You can restore an archived model, including all of its data, into the same workspace at a later date.

You can also switch the model online and offline.

Enable and Disable Deployed Mode

Application Lifecycle Management is an Enterprise feature.
The Deployed mode feature is only available to Enterprise customers.

Enable Deployed Mode

If a model is designed solely for production use or testing, enable deployed mode to restrict editing of its structural information. For more information, see Application Lifecycle Management.

  1. In Model Management, select the model you want to deploy.
  2. Click Change Mode.
  3. Click Deployed.
  4. Set the online status of your model:
    • If you want the model to be offline initially, under Non-administrator Access, click Offline.
    • Leave Online selected if you want to allow production users to access the model as soon as it’s deployed.
  5. Click OK, and then confirm that you want to go ahead.
  6. Wait while deployed mode is enabled. Deployed mode is indicated by the deployed icon, which is displayed next to the model name, top-left. The same icon appears for both production users and Administrators.

Disable Deployed Mode

You can disable Deployed Mode by returning a model to Standard Mode.

  1. In Model Management, select the model and then click Change Mode.
  2. Click Standard.

Archive and Restore a Model

To archive a model:

  1. In Model Management, select the model you want to archive.
  2. Click Change Mode.
  3. Click Archived.
  4. Click OK.

The model no longer displays in Model Management.

To view archived models, select the Show Archived Models check box.

To restore an archived model:

  1. In Model Management, select the model you want to restore.
  2. Click Standard.
  3. Click OK. The model displays as active.

Delete an Archived Model

If you archive a model, you can delete it directly from the Model Management list.

CAUTION! If you delete an archived model, it's permanently deleted!
  1. Open Model Management and select the Show Archived Models checkbox.
  2. Select the archived model you want to delete and click Delete.
    A confirmation dialog displays.
  3. Click OK to continue.

The archived model is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.

Lock and Unlock a Model

To lock a model:

  1. Select the model you want to lock.
  2. Click Change Mode.
  3. Click Locked.
  4. Click OK to confirm.

The model is set to read-only, so users won't be able to make changes. The padlock icon displays when a model is locked.

To unlock a locked model:

  1. Select the model you want to unlock.
  2. Click Unlock.

Switch Models Offline and Online

You can take models offline and bring them back online. Switching a model offline is a way of restricting access to the model:

  • Offline models remain fully accessible to workspace administrators.
  • Non-administrator users can see offline models in Tiles view, but can't open them.
  • Models that have been locked or archived can't be switched offline or online.

By restricting access to a model and excluding non-administrators, taking a model offline is useful when you want to make changes to a model and prevent unwanted changes by other users, such as:

  • When creating modules or dashboards for a model, you can take the model offline until you complete the changes and then bring the model back online so that users can start to work with the new modules or dashboards.
  • In preparation for rolling back a model, you can prevent any recently-entered data being lost during rollback.

Other users who have a model open when it's taken offline are affected in different ways:

  • Non-administrators receive a message stating that the model is no longer valid. They are taken back to tiles view, where the model's offline status is indicated.
  • Administrators are not interrupted. They can continue to work in the model and its offline status is shown against the model name, top-left.

Take Models Offline

  1. Open Model Management and select the model you want to take offline and click Take Offline.
  2. In the confirmation dialog, click OK to continue. (Or, click Cancel if you decide not to take the model offline.).

The dialog closes and the selected model shows as offline in Model Management.

Bring Models Online

  1. In Model Management, select the model you want to bring online and click Bring Online. A confirmation dialog appears:
  2. To bring the model online, click OK. (Or, click Cancel if you decide not to bring the model online.)

The dialog closes and you are taken back to Model Management where the model shows as online.