1. Administration and security
  2. Security
  3. Logout and Timeout Behavior

For security, an Anaplan session automatically times out if the end-user is inactive for 30 minutes.

Logout

When you log out of Anaplan, your browser is redirected to another URL. Your Anaplan administrator might have established a specific SAML Logout URL. If not, a static page appears, and you can contact your Anaplan administrator to determine the friendly URL that allows you to log into Anaplan.

Default Customer

Every Anaplan user is associated with a Default Customer, which can only be associated with one SAML logout URL. Generally, the Default Customer is the organization that employs the Anaplan user.

However, in some cases the Anaplan user is acting as a consultant. Let's say that consultant's name is John Smith, and he is consulting both at CompanyA and CompanyB. The best practice is for the consultant to get an identity that is unique to each company, such as John.Smith.Consultant@CompanyA.com and John.Smith.Consultant@CompanyB.com .

This way, when John Smith is working for Company A, the logout behavior is that of an employee of Company A. Similarly, when John Smith is working for Company B, the logout behavior is that of an employee of Company B.

Identity Default Customer SSO Logout Page
John.Smith.Consultant@CompanyA.com CompanyA Company A's page
Regular.Employee@CompanyA.com CompanyA Company A's page
John.Smith.Consultant@CompanyB.com CompanyB Company B's page
Regular.Employee@CompanyB.com CompanyB Company B's page

If John Smith is providing consulting services at CompanyB while using his CompanyA identity, his SAML logout page is CompanyA's page.

Timeout

Anaplan's idle timeout is 30 minutes. Most end-users will have to log in again at the Login page. If your organization is using an Identity Provider (IdP) and the IdP has also timed out, you'll be prompted to authenticate at the IdP URL for your organization. If your browser is re-directed to a static page, contact your administrator to determine the friendly URL that allows you to log into Anaplan.

This diagram illustrates the behavior when an end-user is timed out after 30 minutes of inactivity as well as when an end-user chooses to log out: