1. Modeling
  2. Control user access
  3. Contents

Contents ensures that your users only see the data you want them to see, and that it's well organized.

The key to this organization is to create meaningful Roles that realistically represent the activities of user groups. Roles are fundamental to controlling access to data. By allowing or denying access to dashboards, modules, and views, an administrator can exert a very fine level of control over who can see what data. Permitting some roles a greater level of access than others ensures that data is secured on a need-to-know basis. This organization is set in Contents.

The second step in controlling data access is to build dashboards that are targeted directly to the requirements of the role; it's much better to have three simple dashboards, directed to three different roles, than one dashboard that may provide access to data that is inappropriate for some users.

If you follow this process, your users will only see the data you want them to see in the Contents panel, reducing clutter and enabling users to focus on their tasks without having to navigate through model elements that have no relevance.

When users log in, they will only see the content that has not been filtered out for their role, grouped by Functional Area. Any modules and dashboards that are not assigned to a functional area are shown at the bottom of the Contents panel.

When new modules and dashboards are added or moved, you can choose which modules and dashboards each role can work with, and specify whether they are automatically shown in Contents.

Select content for a role

  1. On the Settings tab, click Contents.
  2. Clear the check box to hide the module or dashboard from the role. You can swipe, or click and drag, to select multiple items and then press the space bar to toggle the selection.

Automatically show new content

In the Contents tab, you can turn Show New Content on or off, by Functional Area, for each role. Select On to have Contents automatically updated or Off, if you don't want this to happen.

Show New Content is disabled if:

  • role access is set to None for a module, or;
  • if the role doesn't have read or write access to a module published to a dashboard as a grid, chart, or cell.

For more information on setting role permissions, see Roles.

Show hidden content

Dashboards often draw data from a number of modules, some of which a user may not have access to. When a user opens a dashboard, any data they do not have access to is hidden from display in the Contents panel. However, selecting the checkbox, Show hidden content, at the bottom of Contents, displays those items so that they can be accessed.

Administrators can choose whether the checkbox is displayed to non-administrators by model. In Model Settings , click the Contents tab and select the Enable access to hidden content option from the View menu to hide or show the checkbox at the bottom of the Contents panel.