Selective Access enables administrators to restrict access to lists and list items within a model on a user-by-user basis. Selective Access doesn't change how items are entered into a list—it controls access to the data in a module that uses a restricted list as a dimension.
If you enable Selective Access for a list used to list format a line item, you can apply Selective Access to that line item. Users will need Read or Write access to the list to be able to see and edit the line item's data (Dropdowns provide more information).
If Selective Access is selected for a child list, all parent lists automatically assume Selective Access—in Model Settings > Lists and Roll-ups > General Lists you will see the tick boxes for all parent lists selected. However, when Selective Access is applied to a parent list, its children do not automatically assume Selective Access—the tick boxes for the child lists will not be selected automatically.
How it works
When Selective Access is applied to a list in Model Settings > Lists and Roll-ups > General Lists:
- a Read and a Write column are added to the Model Settings > Users tab so that access to the list can be assigned by individual users;
- a Read and a Write column are added to the Grid View of the list so that access to individual list items can be assigned by individual users.
If users have:
- Write Access they can view and edit data associated with the list items.
- Read Access they can view data associated with the list items they have access to, but can't edit any of the associated data.
Users with Workspace Administrator rights have different access rights that apply when performing imports. For more information, see Access Constraints in Model-to-Model Imports.
Selective Access and List Orphans
List items belonging to a list that doesn't have a parent hierarchy are called orphans. If you enable Selective Access for this kind of list, then you must assign access to each list item separately.
In some circumstances, you must ensure that Selective Access for list orphans is not lost. If the parent for a list is lost, either as the result of running an import process or because of a manual deletion, the list items become orphans and lose the access settings inherited from the parent. Then separately assign access to each orphaned list item. Alternatively, import a parent to the list and apply the required access to the parent.