The dashboard toolbar provides buttons for administrators and users to access different kinds of functionality when working with dashboards. Dashboard maintenance is rapid, especially as administrators can toggle between Design and Preview modes of a dashboard to see the effect of their changes.
The dashboard toolbar helps to reinforce the separation of activity — building dashboards as a completely separate activity to using dashboards. Users in runtime mode can manipulate and analyze data — there’s no option to save these changes. For administrators, when the Edit button is selected and the dashboard is in Design mode, structural changes can be made and the dashboard saved using the Save or Save & Exit buttons.
Display the toolbar
For both administrators and users, the default mode for a dashboard toolbar is closed. Clicking the tab, where the dashboard name is displayed, toggles between displaying and hiding the toolbar.
An upward-facing double chevron icon displays to the left of the dashboard name when the toolbar is open. A downward-facing double chevron icon displays when it is closed — if the dashboard is a landing dashboard, this icon will change to the Home icon when you move focus away from the tab.
|Dashboard toolbar open||Dashboard toolbar closed||Landing dashboard — toolbar closed|
If you close a dashboard whilst the toolbar is open, when you re-open that dashboard, the toolbar will be open, just as you left it. This applies to all models in the workspace whilst the browser session is active. If the toolbar is in Edit mode when you close the dashboard, when you re-open it, the toolbar will display, but not in Edit mode.
To accommodate an open toolbar, the dashboard is moved down the screen.
Toolbar options — end users
For users who don’t have administrator privileges, the toolbar provides buttons to:
- Reset the dashboard (pull the latest version from the server and discard any changes).
- Refresh the data elements on the dashboard, preserving any selections.
- Export the dashboard to .pdf format.
- Undo the most recent change you made to a data value.
Toolbar options — administrators
If Personal Dashboards are disabled these options are shown.
In addition to the Reset, Refresh, and Export buttons, the toolbar provides administrators with extra buttons to:
- Copy the master dashboard and save it with a new name.
- Edit the dashboard in Dashboard Designer.
- Save the changes in run-time mode.
If Personal Dashboards are enabled, these options are shown.
- Save As My View saves the changes you make to a dashboard as a personal dashboard. This toggles to Delete My View when a personal dashboard has been saved. This button is inactive until a change is made to the dashboard.
- Save As Master saves the changes that you have made in a dashboard to the master dashboard. All personal dashboards based on that master, are reset.
The Edit button
Selecting the Edit button opens the Dashboard Designer and provides additional buttons:
Alongside Reset, Refresh, and Copy are buttons to:
- Show or hide the Dashboard Designer properties panel (the first button with the left-pointing arrow).
- Add Text to the dashboard in a text box.
- Add Image to the dashboard.
- Toggle between Design and Preview mode.
- Save changes to the dashboard (this option is only enabled when changes have been made).
- Save & Exit the dashboard and Dashboard Designer (again, only enabled when changes have been made).
- Close discards any structural changes but persists any data changes and exits the Dashboard Designer. If the dashboard hasn't been saved, and the Close button is selected, a message will display to prompt the model builder to either Save & Publish the dashboard; Discard Changes; or Cancel to close the dialog and continue in design mode.
There is no option to export a dashboard to .pdf format when in the Dashboard Designer.
Dashboards open in run-time mode and move into design mode when the Edit button is selected. If changes are made in run-time mode, before the Edit button is selected, those changes will be lost as there is no way to persist them into design mode (changes to page selectors are the exception). So, to prevent any work being lost, it’s good practice to make all the changes required whilst in design mode.
Administrators can toggle between Design and Preview mode to see the effect of any changes.
Indication that a change has been made
Where more than one administrator is working on a dashboard (in design mode) and one saves changes, this message will display to the others:
Any changes made to the open dashboard will persist, and can be edited, until the user:
- selects Update to the latest version; or
- closes the dashboard (the Save and Save & Exit buttons are disabled).
Before choosing one of these options, administrators have the option to Copy the dashboard or Export Dashboard to PDF .
Clicking the Update to the latest version button will refresh the dashboard with the new version and enable the Save and Save & Exit buttons.
When a user makes a change to a dashboard — hide, show, pivot, etc — the dashboard name will change on the dashboard tab to a blue italic font with an asterisk at the end of the dashboard name.
If a user makes changes to their dashboard (the dashboard name is displayed in blue text) and the Update to the latest version message is subsequently displayed, the changes the user made will be overwritten when Update to the latest version is selected.