Each company (or autonomous workgroup) has its own workspace. A workspace has its own set of users and may contain any number of models.
- A workspace stores all of the models belonging to your company or department.
- Setting up the plan for the whole company? Use the company name for your workspace.
- Just your department or area? Add the name of your department, such as Widget Production Inc. - US Sales
Your workspace role is either administrator or user.
The administrator is the person who registered for Anaplan or was made an administrator by the person who registered.
The user has no access to any model management functions other than:
- Set as Default
- Switch Model
The Model Settings tab is only visible to workspace administrators and is where you'll spend the majority of your time. You can configure models, manage users and roles. See Model Settings.
Each model has a size of storage on the Anaplan server. You can see this on the Help > About page. It's also shown on the Settings tab. Double-clicking the size toggles the display between the number of cells and the size in bytes.
Workspace size is the sum of the sizes of all non-archived models in the workspace and is shown on the Model Management dialog.
You can reduce the size of your workspace by copying or archiving models that aren't used. Archived models can be made available by selecting Restore, and then unlocked so that your users can access them. If you really don't need your archived models, you can delete them.
Each workspace has an allowance that is monitored by Anaplan. Your workspace allowance is tied to your monthly subscription.
Manage workspace size
There are many different aspects to managing workspace size:
- Make sure that all active models are actually needed. If a model isn't being used, it should be archived. Archived models do not count towards the workspace size.
- Use smaller data sets for production and test models to limit the size.
- Ensure that models are optimized for size. See Manage Model Size.
- Limit the number of versions defined.
- Limit the number of years defined, as well as the granularity of time.
Dealing with large models
If a large model potentially exceeds your core workspace allowance, you can:
- Try splitting the model up into logical groups across several workspaces.
- Consider changing the standard calculation policy to a virtualized data set. This way of managing large models is only appropriate for a limited number of use cases. For further information and to discuss your model's suitability for this approach, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Reset the index of a list
Each list item has an index. The maximum value for a list item index is 999,999,999. The Next item index represents the index of the next new item. Subsequent imports can fail if your organization works with large amounts of data and the maximum value is reached. Previously, you had to contact Anaplan Support to reset the Next item index. You can reset the Next item index if:
- you're a workspace administrator;
- the list item index of the selected list is between 899,999,999 and 999,999,999;
- the selected list does not contain any items;
- the model is not in deployed mode; or
- the model is in deployed mode and the list is a production list.
To reset the next item index of a list:
- Select the list for which you want to reset the entity index.
- Select the Configure tab.
- Click Reset.
You can undo this change by restoring the model history.