1. Extensions
  2. Google Sheets Add-on
  3. Refresh
  4. Refresh a connection

In the Google Sheets Add-on, you can refresh a connection to update a single worksheet, or an entire spreadsheet, with the latest data from Anaplan.

If you want to update Anaplan with your changes, perform a Send and refresh instead. Note that you can only send and refresh a read-write connection.

You can configure whether refresh includes Anaplan line item formatting and/or grid styles via Settings. Read-write connections, however, always apply Anaplan line item formatting.

Note: If you cancel a refresh before the data download finishes, the data that displays in your worksheet is inconsistent with the Anaplan model. Complete a full refresh to ensure the data in your worksheet aligns with the Anaplan model.

Refresh your connection

To refresh a connection:

  1. Go to the Anaplan sidebar in Google Sheets.
  2. Click Refresh, to refresh the current sheet only, or Refresh all to refresh all worksheets within the current spreadsheet.
    A dialog box displays the Add-on's progress as it retrieves your retrieving data.
    A Cancel button displays when data starts downloading.
    Refresh status displays the progress of the refresh by percentage and displays Up to date when the refresh is complete.
    Note: The first extract or refresh of data from Anaplan into the Add-on may take a few seconds. Once the data is loaded into memory, future extracts or refreshes of the same connection will be quicker. 

If you cancel the refresh, options to Resume or Discard the data retrieval appear in the sidebar. To continue using the Google Sheets Add-on in that worksheet, you must either resume the refresh or discard the data retrieval.

To resume the refresh:

  1. Click Resume in the Anaplan sidebar.
    The Retrieving data dialog displays.
    You can still click Cancel, or allow the refresh to complete.

To discard the refresh:

  1. Click Discard to discard the data retrieval.
    The Discard data retrieval dialog displays.
  2. Click Yes to discard or No to close the dialog and return to the Anaplan sidebar.
    If you click Yes, the data retrieval is discarded.