Manage folder security by setting specific rights at the role level within the File Explorer. Ensure all objects in a folder adhere to uniform security settings, improving organizational control and data protection.

Folder Rights are set at the role level. Select a folder within the Explorer module and set the folder rights for a particular role.

The options for Folder Rights are:

Folder RightsDescription
InheritThe role inherits the folder rights from the parent folder. The rights set for the parent folder are also the rights for the selected folder.
None

The role has no rights to the selected folder. The user will be unable to open/expand this folder. 

The folder is grayed out in appearance. 

ReadThe role can view the contents, the files/objects, in the selected folder.
Write

The role can update objects in the selected folder. This includes:

  • Create new objects in the folder.
  • Rename existing objects in the folder.
  • Delete existing objects in the folder.
  • Create new folders within the folder.
  • Delete sub-folders within the folder.

Note: Access must be granted explicitly.

  • The default security for the root folder is None
  • Default security for non-root folders is Inherit

Object Rights are set at the role level. Select a folder within File Explorer and set the object rights for a particular role.

The object rights set apply to all objects within the folder. All objects in the folder have the same security settings. Security isn't assigned for individual objects within the folder.

For example, if you want to restrict access to three reports in a single folder while keeping one report inaccessible to a specific role, it's advisable to create a separate folder for that report. 

The options for Object Rights include:

Object RightsDescription
InheritThe role inherits the object rights from the parent folder. The object rights set for the parent folder, are also the object rights for the selected folder.
NoneThe role has no object rights for the selected folder. You can see objects in this folder.
Read

The role has read access to the objects in the selected folder. The definition of read access depends on the type of object.

  • Forms: The role can open forms but can't save data back to the system via the form.
  • Report Books: The role can run report books.
  • Workflow Processes: The role can open the workflow process and update the workflow process. 
WriteThis option applies to Form objects only. Write access shows that a role can open a Form and save data back to the system through a form.

To set the folder and object rights for a role:

  1. Navigate to the Explorer module.
  2. Navigate to the folder to set folder rights.
  3. Right-click the folder and select Security from the context menu.
    The Security Settings window appears.
  4. Select a role from the Role drop list.
  5. Select ‌Add Role. A new entry appears, and you can now set the Folder Rights and Object Rights for the selected role. 
  6. Select the appropriate option from the list:
RightsOption
Folder

Select one option from the dropdown:

  • Inherit
  • None
  • Read
  • Write
Object

Select one option from the dropdown:

  • Inherit
  • None
  • Read
  • Write
  1. Select Save to save the changes.  

To update a role's existing folder and object rights:

  1. Navigate to the Explorer module.
  2. Navigate to the folder to update.
  3. Right-click the folder and select Security from the context menu.
    The Security Settings window appears.
  4. Locate the role in the Role. 
  5. Update the appropriate option from the list:
RightsOption
Folder

Select one option from the dropdown:

  • Inherit
  • None
  • Read
  • Write
Object

Select one option from the dropdown:

  • Inherit
  • None
  • Read
  • Write
  1. Select Save to save the changes.  

To delete a role's existing folder and object rights:

  1. Navigate to the Explorer.
  2. Navigate to the folder to update.
  3. Right-click the folder and select Security from the context menu.
    The Security Settings window appears.
  4. Locate the role in the Role.
  5. Select the Delete icon to delete the access.
  6. The access rights are deleted.
  7. Select Save to save the changes.