The Clear data utility clears data in your model. For example, clear data in the Forecast Scenario before loading actual data.

Role Authorizations control access to the Clear Data utility. The role authorization, found in the Security module, under Role Authorizations > Maintenance> Consolidation > Utilities > Clear Data, controls whether you have access to the Clear Data utility. Once in the utility, you can only clear data for target areas that include members you have write access to.

To open the utility and select the model:

  1. Navigate to Maintain > Utilities > Clear Data.
  2. The Clear Data utility shows the default consolidation model. 
    • If you need another consolidation model, select the Select Model icon on the toolbar. From the Model dropdown, select the model, then choose OK.

The main toolbar menu is located at the upper right. These are the descriptions of the icons:

IconDescription

Select Model


The utility selects the default consolidation model. To use a different consolidation model, select the Select Model icon. 

Reset

Resets the form to the previously saved options.

Run

Runs the utility. 

The Clear Data utility requires you to select a target intersection to clear.

Specify the target parameters for clearing data by selecting the Find icon.

    • The clear data utility will be performed for all specified members in that dimension if a target is defined for that dimension.
    • The target data is defined by the dimensions and their members in the selected model, such as Account, Audit, Currency, DataView, Date, Entity, Intercompany, Movement, and Scenario.  
    • By default, target is set to All. 
    • A Target Scenario and Target Date must always be defined.
    • You can clear from one leaf member to another in any dimension.
    • You can also select members for Other type dimensions, such as Products or Cost Centers, in the target.
    • The system saves your last parameter selections for future use.

Once all the target fields are configured, select the Run icon on the toolbar to clear the data.

Note: The system validates whether the scenario/period combination is open.  If the period/scenario combination is locked, clearing data isn't allowed. For more information, see Configure Open Periods. only.

Warning: Use with caution as this feature clears all data in the defined target.