Revision tags are an Application Lifecycle Management (ALM) feature.

On the Revision Tags page you can:

  • Add a revision tag to a model
  • Create a model from a revision tag
  • Revert to the most recent revision tag
  • Compare revision tags in the same model

Before you add a revision tag, make sure you understand:

Revision tags can only be added to models in standard mode.

To avoid production models that are incompatible for synchronization, we recommend that you only add revision tags to development models.

Although revision tags are recorded in a model's change history, they don't contribute toward workspace size.

Add a revision tag to a model

To add a revision tag to a model:

  1. Go to Revision Tags and select Add Revision Tag.
    The Add Revision Tag button is only available if the model has at least one unsaved structural change.
  2. Give the revision tag a title and a description (optional).
  3. Select Save.
    A new revision tag is added to the first row in the revision tags table.

For more information on how to name or track revision tags, see the Anaplan Community article Best Practices for Revision Tag Documentation(opens external page).

Create a model from a revision tag

If you're a workspace administrator, you can create a model from the latest or any previous revision tag in a given model. Make sure the new model:

  • Contains the same structural information as your chosen revision tag, but no production data.
  • Is created in the same workspace you're currently in.

The new model will only work as a synchronize source if it was created from the latest revision tag on the original model.

To create a model from a revision tag:

  1. Go to Revision Tags  and select a revision tag from the table.
    The latest revision tag is selected by default.
  2. Select Create Model From Revision.
  3. In the Create Model From Revision dialog, enter a name for the new model.
    The new model must use a different name than the current models.
  4. Select Create Model.
  5. If the new model was successfully created, you can select Open New Model to open the model in the same browser.

Revert to the most recent revision tag

You can revert a model back to the most recent revision tag, which discards any unsaved structural changes made by you or other users. The model's production data, such as the contents of production lists, is not affected. This feature is useful if you need to revert unwanted changes made in a development model.

Note: This action is permanent and you cannot undo or recover the discarded structural changes.

To revert to the most recent revision tag:

  1. Go to Revision Tags and select Revet to Last Revision.
    The Revert to Last Revision button is only available if at least one structural change was made since the most recent revision tag.
  2. In the dialog that displays, select Revert to Last Revision.
  3. Wait until the unsaved structural changes are discarded.

Compare revision tags in the same model

You can compare two revision tags in a single model to understand changes made over time. You can compare a later revision tag with an earlier one, and vice versa.

  1. On the Revision Tags page, locate a revision tag to use as the basis for the comparison, then select Compare.
    This is Revision A.
  2. In the Compare Revisions dialog, select the revision tag you want to compare with Revision A, then select Next.
    This is Revision B.
  3. Review summarized results of the structural data in Revision B compared with that in Revision A, which includes a count of new, modified, and deleted items.
    You can also:
    • Compare different revision tags: select them from the dropdowns, then select Update.
    • Download a more detailed comparison report as a tab-delimited .txt file. For more information, see The Compare and Synchronize Process.

Synchronization of changes between two revisions in the same model isn't supported.

Copy or import model effects on revision tags

We recommend you always add a revision tag before you copy a model.

  • When you copy a model that contains unsaved structural changes, a new revision tag is automatically added to the original model and then copied to the new model. This ensures that no structural changes are lost in the copy process. A revision tag that was created when you copy a model is entitled “Copy Model”.
  • When you copy a model that doesn’t have any unsaved structural changes, the latest revision tag in the original model is copied to the new model. The name of the revision tag is unchanged.

The same process applies when you import a model, except that a revision tag created when you import a model is entitled "Import Model".

If you open a model created before the 2016.3 (August 2016) Anaplan release and attempt to copy it, revision tags are not automatically added to the original or the new model. You must make at least one structural change before you copy the model, otherwise an error is displayed.

About the synchronized icons

On the Revision tags page, the icons in the Synced column indicate the synchronization status of a particular revision tag.

IconIndicates that…
This icon indicates that structural information in the revision tag has been synchronized to a compatible target model.
The structural information in the revision tag has been synchronized to a compatible target model.
This icon indicates that structural information in the revision tag has been synchronized from a compatible source model.
The structural information in the revision tag has been synchronized from a compatible source model.

Hover over an icon to view a summary of its synchronization status. If the Synced column is empty, then the model has never been synchronized at that revision, either from a source model or to a target model.

Information stored in a revision tag

Revision tags capture a model's structural information and store the extra information, as described in the table below. This information can be accessed on the Revision Tags page.

InformationCapturesExamples
SyncedWhether the revision tag has been used in a Compare and Synchronize operation, as either a source or target.Synchronized with "Demand Plan Dev" on 10 Jan 2018 09:30 by John Doe
TitleA summary of the revision tag.1.1, 1.2, 2.0
Budget FY 2018
DescriptionA user-entered description of the structural changes.

"Minor changes for v1.1"

"Release of v2.0"

"Added Consolidation module for Budget FY 2018"

Created ByThe name of the user who added the revision tag.John Doe
Created OnWhen the revision tag was added.10 Jan 2018 09:30

About revision tags in change history

The change history of a model includes information on revision tags and related actions involved in ALM. Use the table below to help you interpret this information.

When you...This text appears in the "Description" column...This text appears in the "New Value" column...Notes
Add a revision tag"Revision added manually by user"The title of the revision tag-
Copy a model"Revision added automatically"The title of the revision tagIf you copy a model that contains unsaved structural changes, "Revision added automatically | Copy Model" appears in the change history of both the original and the new models.
Import a model"Revision added automatically"The title of the revision tagIf you import a model that contains unsaved structural changes, "Revision added automatically | Import Model" appears in the change history of both the source and the target models.
Create a model from a revision tag"Model created from revision"The title of the revision tag"Model created from revision" appears in the change history of the target not the source model. This is followed by a list of all model changes against a single change ID.
Synchronize changes to or from a model"Revision synced"The title of the revision tag"Revision synced" appears in the change history of the target not the source model.

Because these actions don't constitute model changes, they don't have a change ID. It's not possible to restore a model to a previous revision tag or related action with the Restore to ID feature.


Disclaimer

We update Anapedia regularly to provide the most up-to-date instructions.