Below are considerations to follow when you enable Deployed mode in a model.
Deployed mode is for use with production and test models, not development models. When you need to update a production model:
- Make the structural changes in a compatible development (source) model, in Standard mode.
- Use Compare and Synchronize to move structural changes from the development (source) model to the production (target) model (do not disable deployed mode).
For reasons of security and data integrity, we recommend you only store production data in models that are in Deployed mode. This also avoids duplication of data and helps to reduce the overall size of the model.
Since Deployed mode blocks any changes from being made to a model’s structural information, you’re not allowed to add revision tags to models in Deployed mode. In deployed mode, it's still possible to create a model from a revision tag.
We recommend you always enable Deployed mode in synchronization target models.
Warning: Don't disable deployed mode in production models or sync target models. If structural changes are made after disabling deployed mode, the model will become incompatible for synchronization with previously compatible source models. In some circumstances, you can recover a sync incompatible model by reverting to the most recent revision tag. For help, see Work with revision tags.