Copy data from one intersection in your database to another. For example, if you want to copy data from the actual scenario to the budget scenario. This feature also enables you to clear a target area, which clears out the data defined in your target intersection.

Navigate to Explorer > Global > Consolidation > Maintenance > Copy Data.

The Copy Data utility enables you to select:

  • A source intersection to copy data from.
  • A target intersection to copy data to.

There are rules that should be kept in mind when using this utility:

  • The copy will be done for all members in that dimension if a source or target isn't defined for a given dimension.
  • A Source Scenario must always be defined.
  • Target Scenario and target date must always be defined.
  • If a source is defined for a given dimension but a target isn't defined, the target will be the same as the source. 
    The Same as source checkbox can be used to clear the target if one has been inadvertently defined.
  • You can copy from a leaf member to a leaf member in any dimension
  • You can copy from a Parent member to a Parent member in any dimension, given that the parent members are the same for both source and target. You can't  copy from one parent member to a different parent member. 
  • If you define a target, the source must also be defined for any given dimension.
  • Any non-standard Consolidation dimensions, such as products or cost centers, are always defaulted to all members

Note: If the period/scenario combination is locked, clearing data isn't allowed. For more information, see Configure Open Periods.

Once all the source and target fields are configured, select the Run button to perform the data copy.

In the form:

  1. Specify the source and target parameters for copying data. The source data is defined across several dimensions, such as Account, Audit, Currency, DataView, Date, Entity, Intercompany, Movement, and Scenario.
    The target data can use the same dimensions as the source, or different ones.
  2. Select the Same as Source checkbox for a given dimension to copy the source dimension's data member to the corresponding target.
  3. If the target field is left blank, all members within that dimension are copied. This is useful for clearing out existing data in the target before copying it from the source.
    The Same as source option is only needed if there's a value in the target that the user wants to delete. Otherwise, leaving the target blank does the same thing.

Use this option to clear the target intersection defined.

Warning: Use with caution as this clears all data in the defined target.

  • When using the clear target area option, anything defined in the source is ignored. 
  • Any target dimensions left blank assume all members in that dimension are to be cleared. 
  • Target scenario and target date must always be defined.
  • Any non-standard consolidation dimensions, such as products and cost centers, are always defaulted to all members

Note: If the period/scenario combination is locked, clearing data isn't allowed.