A workspace administrator must create the import before it can be published to a dashboard. Once published to a dashboard, any user with permission to run the import, and access to the data, can run the import from there.
Publish an import to a dashboard
Workspace administrators can publish imports to dashboards as action buttons.
Note: To enable users to run imports to Versions or Users from a dashboard, you must publish the imports as action buttons.
Access to imports on dashboards
If selective access applies to the version, list, or module into which you want to import, your model role must have write access to this. If you do not have dynamic cell access to some data in an import, the import only updates the cells you can access.
To enable non-workspace administrators to run an import from a dashboard, the workspace administrator must save the import as a default file shared with everyone.
Note: Only workspace administrators can run imports for Versions and Users.
Sources for dashboard imports
If you run an import that's saved as a private file, the import uses the saved import data source. This means you do not need to upload a source when you run the import, unless the file has expired. Private import files expire if not used for 48 hours.
If a list or module import is shared with everyone or administrators only, you need to upload a source file when you run the import from a dashboard.
Workspace administrators can run imports to users and versions with the original data source, as long as it has not expired. If the original source expires and a shared default file exists, the import defaults to the shared file.
Import from another model on a dashboard
To run a saved import action from a dashboard, the action must be published to the dashboard as a button.
Workspace administrators can set up a new model-to-model import from the grid menu of a list or saved view on a dashboard. However, this creates a new import.
When you use an action button to import from a saved view, there must be a view in the source model with the same name as the view for which the import was configured. If multiple views in the model have the same name, the import is unsuccessful.