1. Dashboards and Visualization
  2. Dashboards
  3. Work with Data on Dashboards
  4. Dashboard Toolbar

The dashboard toolbar enables users to reset, refresh, and export the dashboard to PDF format. Workspace administrators can also use the toolbar to enable editing, save changes, and toggle between Design and Preview modes. 

Anyone with a model role that has access to a dashboard can use it to manipulate and analyze data on a published dashboard. These changes do not save when you close the dashboard. If you're a workspace administrator, you can select the Edit button to enter design mode. This enables you to make structural changes that you can save, so the changes display for anyone who uses the dashboard.

Once you select Edit, you can toggle between Design and Preview so you can check how your changes will display before you publish.

Change of selection in page selectors persists between published and design modes.

Warning: If you make changes to data in published mode, then select the Edit button, those changes are lost. To prevent this, it’s good practice to make all the changes you require while in design mode.

Display the toolbar

By default, the dashboard toolbar is open. In Classic Anaplan, you can select the tab to open the toolbar. To show the toolbar in the New Modeling Experience:

  • For Windows, right-click the dashboard tab
  • For Macs, Control+click or double-tap  the dashboard tab, then select Show/Hide dashboard toolbar.

When the dashboard toolbar is open, an upward-facing double-chevron displays on the dashboard tab. When closed, the double-chevron points down .

If the dashboard is the landing dashboard for your role, a house icon displays in the tab when your focus is away from the dashboard.

If you close any dashboard while the toolbar is open, the toolbar displays when you reopen the dashboard. The toolbar also displays on any other dashboards in any other model you open in the workspace. This persists for the duration of your browser session, unless you hide the toolbar.

If the dashboard is in design or preview mode when you close the dashboard, the toolbar displays when you reopen it. However the dashboard opens in published mode. You need to select Edit to enter design or preview mode again.

Dashboard toolbar options

These options display for all users in the dashboard toolbar:

  • Reset the dashboard (pull the latest version from the server and discard any changes).
  • Refresh the data elements on the dashboard, preserving any selections.
  • Export the dashboard to .pdf format.
  • Undo the most recent change you made to a data value.

Workspace administrators also have these options:

  • Copy the master dashboard and save it with a new name.
  • Edit the dashboard in Dashboard Designer.
  • Save the changes in run-time mode.

If personal dashboard views are enabled, the options to Save As My View and Save As Master display.

Save As My View saves the changes you make to a dashboard as a personal dashboard. This changes to Delete My View when you save a personal dashboard. This button is inactive until you make a change to the dashboard.

Save As Master saves the changes that you have made in a dashboard to the master dashboard. All personal dashboards based on that master, are reset.

Design and preview mode options

When you select Edit in the dashboard toolbar, Dashboard Designer opens in design mode. Additional options display in the toolbar:

Show/hide properties panel iconWhen open, the icon displays as an arrow that points left. When closed, an arrow that points right. Select the icon to toggle between open and closed.
Add TextSelect to add a text box to the dashboard.
Add ImageSelect to add an image to the dashboard.
Design/Preview toggle

Toggle to switch between Design and Preview mode.

All the design mode toolbar options still display when you toggle to Preview

SaveSelect to save your changes. The dashboard remains in design or preview mode. This button is only enabled when you've made changes.
Save & ExitSelect to save your changes and exit Dashboard Designer. This button is only enabled when you've made changes.
Close

Close and discard any structural changes made. Any changes made to data persist.

If you try to close the dashboard with unsaved changes, a message prompts you to either:

  • Save & Publish 
  • Discard Changes
  • Cancel

Cancel closes the dialog and returns you to the dashboard in design mode.

Pending updates on dashboards

Multiple workspace administrators can have the same dashboard open in design mode at once. If another workspace administrator saves changes while you're in design mode, the next time you make a change:

  • A Dashboard Pending Updates message displays
  • An Update to the latest version button displays in the toolbar

Any changes you make to the dashboard continue to display until you either select Update to the latest version or close the dashboard. The Save and Save & Exit buttons are disabled.

You can select to Copy the dashboard or Export to PDF before you close the dashboard.

If you select Update to the latest version the dashboard refreshes with the new version and the Save and Save & Exit buttons are enabled.

Whenever you make a change to a dashboard in the New Modeling Experience, the dashboard name changes to italic. In Anaplan Classic, the dashboard name changes to a blue italic font, with an asterisk at the end of the dashboard name. This includes changes such as entering data as well as structural changes.

If you make a change to a dashboard and the Dashboard Pending Updates message displays, your changes will be overwritten when you select Update to the latest version or close the dashboard.