1. Modeling
  2. Control user access within models
  3. Remove users from a workspace in a model

You can remove a user or users from a workspace when you no longer want them to have access to any models or data in that workspace.

Note that you can manage user access to workspaces in three ways:

  • A user administrator can create users and assign them to, or unassign them from, a workspace in the Administration console
  • A workspace administrator can add or remove users from the Users pane in a model
  • A workspace administrator can import a list of users to add users and update user details

If a user administrator and workspace administrator input conflicting changes for a user, the most recent transaction determines the user account status. 

To avoid user status conflicts, we recommend that your organization use the user administrator role to provision user access.  Workspace administrators can then refine model-level access from the Users pane within a model.

This procedure is for when you want to remove users from a workspace when you're in a model. Learn how to manage user access, as a user administrator, from the Administration console.

It’s quicker to delete several users at the same time than to delete each separately. You can delete up to 250 users at a time.

Before you begin

You must be in a model within the workspace from which you want to delete the user or users.

Note: If you delete users from any model in the workspace, they’re removed from all models in that workspace. If you only want to remove a user’s access to a specific model in a workspace, change their model role(opens external page) instead.

Before you launch the Delete from Users wizard, select the users you want to remove from the workplace. If you do not select any users, the first user in the list is automatically selected.

If you want to select:then:
a single userselect any cell in the row that contains that user.
all users

click the top-left corner of the grid.

Note: you cannot delete yourself, so your user is not selected for deletion in the wizard. 

multiple users in adjacent rows of the grid
  1. Press and hold the Shift key.
  2. Select anywhere in the row for the first user you want to select.
  3. Select anywhere in the row for the last user you want to select.
  4. Release the Shift key.
    All the users between the first user you clicked and the last user you clicked are selected.


If you want to change your selection:

  1. Press and hold the Shift key.
  2. Select anywhere in the row for the user you want to be at the new outer edge of the selection.
  3. Release the Shift key.
    The limit of the selection changes to the row of the user you selected in step 2.
multiple users that are not adjacent in the grid
  1. Press and hold the Command key (on a Mac) or the Control key (on a PC).
  2. Select the header for each row (the user’s email address) for each user you want to select.
  3. Release the Command or Control key.
    All the users for each row you clicked are selected.


If you want to change your row selection:

  1. Press and hold the Command key (on a Mac) or the Control key (on a PC).
  2. Click anywhere in the row of any additional users you want to include in the selection.
  3. Click anywhere in the row of currently selected users that you want to deselect.
  4. Release the Command or Control key.

To delete the selected user or users from your workspace:

  1. In the Users pane of the model, click Delete users in the toolbar.
    The Delete from Users wizard displays.
    The list of users to keep displays on the left under Click to make a selection.
    The users to delete display on the right under Items to delete.
    Your user displays under Click to make a selection, but you cannot select your user for deletion.
  2. Optionally, amend your selection of users to delete:
    • Select users under Click to make a selection to move them to the Items to delete column.
    • Click Keep to the right of any users selected for deletion to remove them from the Items to delete column.
    • Click Delete All >> to move all users except yourself to the Items to delete column.
    • Click << Keep All to remove all users from the Items to delete column.
  3. Click OK when you're happy with your selection of users to delete.
  4. Click OK in the confirmation dialog to confirm the deletion, or Cancel to return to the wizard.
    A message displays the progress of your deletion. When this completes, your results display.

Results

There are three possible results:

ResultMessage
SuccessThe number of users deleted displays.
Partial Success

The number of users deleted displays.

A list of the users not deleted also displays, so you can try again.

Unsuccessful

A confirmation that no users were deleted displays.

A list of the users not deleted displays, so you can try again.